top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturechristine lee

Bluebell dress #2

I used the Bluebell dress pattern by Mood Fabrics to sew my very first dress! Here is my 2nd project using this pattern.


This time, I made it with a crepe georgette fabric with a lyocell lining. The fabric is opaque and is advertised as not needing a lining. However, a lining was added for structure, as the fabric is very thin. Also, a lining is needed at least for the skirt portion because of the way the waistband is constructed (as a backwards French seam where the seam is on the right side), unless it is modified somehow.

the dress was made without mods. I used my serger to do the rolled hems for the necklines & skirts. I used wooly nylon in both the upper and lower looper, and let me tell you that it was such a pain to set up and get it to work! I had to undo, redo, and adjust the settings many times in order to get it to work. I now realize that it was the thread brand that was the problem.. I don't have these same problems with the Maxilock. I'm not buying the Gutermann bulky nylon ever again. But I’m happy with the results. Here are the settings I used on my Brother 1034D



& here’s some pix! I wore this to Costa Rica. & also did my facepaint to match!


I also made matching scrunchies! They were constructed with the serged rolled hem like with the dress. I’m wearing them on my wrists in these photos! The dress also has pockets (of course).


I love this dress pattern. The directions are vague, so it may be difficult to figure out for beginners. But once you do, it’s not difficult to construct and the fit is forgiving due to the elasticized waistband and tie front. I needed no fit modifications. The crepe georgette was shifty and honestly a pain to sew with though. But the texture feels great and it’s relatively wrinkle proof. It's a comfy lightweight dress! Here, I wore it to Costa Rica.




3 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page