top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturechristine lee

Sew your own dream swimsuit class by ClosetCore

Updated: Mar 22, 2021

Here is my unbiased review of the "Sew your own dream swimsuit" class by Closet Core. I purchased this class during the Thanksgiving sale of 2020. It's originally $50, but I got it for $44.25 during the sale. This class has detailed step by step videos, along with potential modifications for sewing the Sophie swimsuit by Closet Core (bikini & one piece version included). Once you enroll, you can also ask Heather for help about questions that come up along the way. I've asked a few questions and received the answer within the day. I made the bikini version. As I was making it, I realized that the bikini pattern didn't include the pattern pieces for the bra straps (it only included the pattern for the halter top strap)-- I knew I didn't want to make a one piece so I didn't bother to print that pattern. I asked for the dimensions of the bra straps, and Heather replied right away.


For my first swimsuit, I used some cheap lycra from my local fabric store. I didn't know if it would fit on the first try, but thankfully it did! Here are some photos of me wearing it at the beach. I also made matching scrunchies in each color! Here are some photos of me wearing this ensemble at the beach. I also made matching leg wraps & a choker, not pictured, that I plan on showing in a future post.




I like how this pattern is so customizable. It has you choose your size, and then bra cup size. Based on my measurements, I made a size 4 with a D cup, as my underbust is 29 and bust is 34. I used a size 36 underwire. I liked how this class went over potential modifications that may be needed. From when I made my first bra (Emerald Erin black beauty), I realized that my breasts were wide set. So I added 1/2 inch extra to the bridge (1/4" placed on the fold). Other than that, no other modifications were needed. We're also instructed to sew a bra cup out of foam before anything else to determine whether or not we have the right cup size before continuing. I think this is a great way to determine cup fit without wasting your fabric.


So although it did fit overall, there are things that I can do better next time. When topstitching the elasticized legholes, I didn't stretch & smooth out the fabric out enough.. So the legholes aren't as stretchy as they're supposed to be, plus there's weird puckering of the fabric. I'm new to sewing swimwear, so I just need to practice & improve my technique. Also, I found the crotch area to be too wide (restricting movement of the legs) & would need to shave off some width off of that area in the future. I find that I just about always have to make this modification when using patterns.


As with my previous swimsuit sewing projects, I continued to have issues with skipped stitches when sewing the rubber I also have to sew quickly, so the needle has enough force to puncture the elastic without creating skipped stitches. I figure that I have a finicky machine and it's time to upgrade. If anyone has tips, please let me know. I've really looked everywhere! I've watched all the swimsuit sewing videos that I could find. They all seemed to assume that everyone was a pro, and none that I've found had any tips for trouble shooting. As an absolute beginner to swimsuit sewing, I really needed to have it broken down step by step. This class has the best, most detailed swimsuit construction instructions that I've found.


I'd say that this class is a must if you're new to swimsuit sewing, or want to bump up your skills! The lining and elastic application methods used in this pattern are definitely now my preferred methods. In the class, you're instructed to sew the swimsuit and lining separately, and then serge the leg holes & waist together (wrong sides of fabrics together). No basting of the main fabric to the lining required! Other sewing patterns instructed me to hand baste the self fabric to the lining, which I HATE doing because it's so time consuming and annoying! This method results in a cleaner look, with all seams on the inside, and is much easier in my opinion. This class also has you serge the main fabric & lining fabric together at each opening, to make elastic application more smooth. It really does make it easier for me, as I found that these layers would shift when applying the elastic. So there are a few extra steps involved, but I think it results in a cleaner, more professional finish (that is also just easier to sew). I've tried multiple swimsuit sewing patterns by other companies, but they all were vague in comparison (even when they claimed to have detailed instructions)! The written instructions also include a stitch settings chart, which I've never seen in a swimsuit pattern before. When I tried making my first swimsuit, I gave up and didn't finish it until much later; when I went back & finished that project, I used the elastic application technique learned in this class.



I carry over the skills I learned through this class in every other swimsuit I've made afterwards. I definitely recommend it! The techniques and pattern instructions are the best & most detailed ones out of all of the swimsuit patterns I've seen so far!

5 views0 comments

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page