top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturechristine lee

Sewing my 1st dress: the Bluebell dress by Mood Fabrics

Updated: Mar 9, 2021


I underestimated how difficult this would be to sew, given my skill level back then. At the time, I hadn't made any garments aside from a couple of skirts! Overall, I recommend sewing this pattern. But not if it's your very first dress! Mood's pattern instructions aren't detailed, and I needed everything broken down step by step. I made this with the assistance of YouTube videos for certain steps (def needed for sleeve insertion), and help on Reddit.


Also, I want to mention that I noticed a mistake when cutting out the pattern pieces. There is a duplicate of one of the bodice pieces. I'm not sure if it has been fixed since then, but in case it hasn't, look out for it. I made a toile first to see if it would fit, and it did! The fit is forgiving, since it has an elasticized waist. But I did make the sleeve cuffs smaller because I wanted a tighter fit. In the future, I'll keep them as they originally are because I realized after the fact that I couldn't raise my arms above my head as freely. This dress was made in cotton voile with premium muslin lining (as recommended by a worker at Joann). It's comfy & adds great structure, but I'd use a lighter weight, softer lining in the future. I added bow details to the sleeves, and created an hi-lo hem. I was inspired by another redditor, chopinslabyrinth, who also gave me tips on how to do this. As an absolute beginner at the time, I needed all the help I could get! I cut too much of the hem off, and ended up having to add the lace for length. It was so frustrating at the time. It was a happy accident, though, because I love the result! I slightly gathered the lace prior to attaching it to the hem.




Overall, I love the fit on this dress. It's very fun, and I'll definitely make more in the future. I made a matching necktie scarf and scrunchie to match!


Has anyone else made this pattern? I'd love to see it!

Commenti


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page